Getting the trail elbow forward

Getting the trail elbow forward

August 25th, 2005, 1:59 pm #1

I'm new to reading Blake. I like some of the analogies he uses to try to help the reader's understanding, particularly those relating to motions used in other activities.

Here's a great clip of a very good raquetball player, Cliff Swain, "down the line," from down low. Look how he gets his trail elbow ahead of his hand on the swing to generate power. (He's a lefty obviously.)

BBFTX

August 25th, 2005, 5:06 pm #2

You'll see the same elbow forward position in a number of activities including volleyball spike, javelin throw, tennis serve, baseball pitch. However in these activities the analysis is not that the legs 'drag' the hand as a result of the position nor has analysis shown a use of some reflex action. In fact it's somewhat the opposite - being able to get your arm into the extreme position demonstrated by elite performaers of these actions requires a de-sensitization of the proprioceptors that initiate some reflex responses that would otherwise prevent your body getting into a position where it could damage itself.

Peter

August 25th, 2005, 5:20 pm #3

I'm new to reading Blake. I like some of the analogies he uses to try to help the reader's understanding, particularly those relating to motions used in other activities.

Here's a great clip of a very good raquetball player, Cliff Swain, "down the line," from down low. Look how he gets his trail elbow ahead of his hand on the swing to generate power. (He's a lefty obviously.)

BBFTX