What Delta is about.

Nunya88
Nunya88

June 3rd, 2003, 1:34 pm #1

Hey Delta members,
I have been reading some messages on this board and some e-mails lately that seem to indicate that some may have forgotten why this place came to be.
Gary and Woody brought Delta racing into existence to provide a place for ANYONE to come and race in a no points no pressure enviroment.
After some not too pleasant experiences in the Shark tank that online league type racing can be they felt that this was something that would appeal to those of us who just enjoy racing,chatting,painting cars or whatever without the baggage that can go along in some leagues.
The problem with this GAME is that some get "I'm a real race driver" Delusions and really unload on people that have the misfortune of not having DSL,Cable or who are just learning the ins and outs of sim-racing.
I know there are some who have driven race cars or had similar experience in the real world and that is great-but get over it because this is a game and when you are "driving" here with the rest of us it is still a game.
If you have the need to score points,win championships and impress your friends and family by telling them you are the Tonka toy sim-racing league champion fine -there are places to do that to fill that need.
But save the attitude and ego problems for that venue and come here and just have fun(If that matters?) and don't go postal if somebody has happens to get in your way sometime.
The bottom line is other than Ziggy's DSC series, Delta is a place for "Fun runs" and someplace for new people to get their feet wet in sim-racing and to see if they like it.
The concept must work because the membership is far beyond what Gary and Woody probably ever imagined, So can't we just try to enjoy it for what it is and if you love points type league racing do that too and have fun but understand that when we race here we need to control the intensity level.