1.3.1 Bugs

Having trouble playing Return to Dark Castle? Don't panic, look in here, if your questions isn't answered, then post it, and we'll be sure to do what we can.

Moderators: izdale, Jon God, La Porta, gruz

izdale
Dark Castle Itself!
izdale
Dark Castle Itself!
Joined: 23 Feb 2007, 05:23

16 Jul 2008, 21:07 #31

ninjapowered @ Jul 16 2008, 03:02 PM wrote: I don't remember whether I was in full screen or not. What are all the precautions I should take to make sure the replay works properly? Once I know the do-s and don't-s I'll try to make another replay and we'll cross our fingers.
The only precaution I can suggest is to be in full screen mode. The replays normally seem to work when it is just one room, pretty much any replay that goes into a 2nd room seems to go out of sync. So the replays are very unreliable right now.
Reply
Like

Joined: 08 Jul 2008, 20:41

17 Jul 2008, 23:09 #32

Ok, here's another replay. This time I made sure I was in fullscreen mode, and I made sure I did not go into a second room (I think this is why my last one failed since I fell into the dungeon at the end).

If this replay fails too, then you'll probably need to reproduce the bug yourself. It's pretty easy:

1. Go into the grand stairway with the special ranged weapon.
2. Work your way to the end where the henchman is.
3. Climb the stairway leading to the henchman but stop when you reach the top of the stairway (if you get too close he picks up his mace and stops throwing the metal spheres).
4. Wait until the timing is right and shoot your ranged weapon so that it kills the henchman while he's hefting a metal sphere but before he throws it. Since it takes so long to get through the room I recommend doing this on novice. If you do it on novice you'll want to shoot your ranged weapon about 1-2 seconds after his previous metal sphere reaches the bottom of the first stairway and goes offscreen.
5. Assuming you kill him after he's picked up the metal sphere but before he throws it, you'll see that the metal sphere is hanging there in midair (it's hard to see against the background pile of metal spheres, but it's there).
6. The floating metal sphere will hurt you if you walk/jump into it. For me, the last two times I did this I would eventually lose all my health and Bryant would make the death grunt, but I could still run around.
Reply
Like

izdale
Dark Castle Itself!
izdale
Dark Castle Itself!
Joined: 23 Feb 2007, 05:23

01 Aug 2008, 20:32 #33

Sorry I didn't get to this sooner, but my computer has been getting repaired. I just finally was able to look at your last replay, and I am afraid that this one didn't work for me either. You fire 2 stoneballs, both miss the first guard, then you walk up the stairs and he kills you. Then you jump back and forth between the 2 rooms for quite awhile.

But, I have on the other hand seen that bug you have been trying to show. Just last night, my wife found it and asked me what to do. She was able to crawl under the ball without harm.
Reply
Like

Joined: 08 Jul 2008, 20:41

01 Aug 2008, 20:43 #34

Ah. Well, bummer that the replay didn't work (maybe the bug itself is messing up the replay? I was fullscreen and did not enter any other rooms), but I'm glad you saw it. It's pretty funny if you "die" by running into the frozen ball a few times.
Reply
Like

hpwebel
Prisoner
hpwebel
Prisoner
Joined: 05 Jun 2008, 04:01

12 Aug 2008, 20:04 #35

ninjapowered @ Jul 8 2008, 01:16 PM wrote: I found a bug in the Grand Stairway. At the end with the henchman who throws the big metal balls :Barrel: , if you kill him while he's hefting one of the balls but before he throws it (using a spiffy weapon that allows you to do such a thing), the ball hangs in the air after he dies. If you run into the ball all kinds of crazy things happen. The first time it happened to me I "died", Bryant glided back and forth across the screen and then dropped to the bottom, and I ended up in the dungeon.
Same thing happens if you use the [ranged weapon] in Shield 1. I have been able to (with a careful jump and the right armor) land *behind* the dead barrel thrower in Shield 1 as well. Shield 1 is my favorite place to stock up on elixers and rocks, hence I have found all kinds of fun ways to purposely die in there and stumbled upon the frozen rock bug...
Reply
Like

hpwebel
Prisoner
hpwebel
Prisoner
Joined: 05 Jun 2008, 04:01

12 Aug 2008, 20:09 #36

Another bug... From time to time if I use the weapon you get from the Witch on a flaming eyeball, it doesn't fall and breakup. Subsequently, if you touch the inanimate grey eyeball, Bryant dies. Has happened to me in 2 different levels that I know of. Catacombs and BK3. My workaround has been to freeze it with said special weapon, but still throw a fireball at it anytime I need to pass through it (when I do I get the standard "thwack" sound you get when you hit a still-orange-colored flaming eyeball.
Reply
Like

Gullwhacker
Rock Henchman
Gullwhacker
Rock Henchman
Joined: 11 Feb 2008, 15:58

10 Sep 2008, 23:11 #37

I've got an odd one. Just installed 1.3.1. Yes, just.

I can't aim. Or rather, if I'm charging an upgraded shot, I can aim up and down - but if i just want to throw on the fly, it's wherever I last fired. No aiming unless I'm holding down the mouse button.

Any thoughts?
Reply
Like

CuriosTiger
Gargoyle
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 20:07

10 Sep 2008, 23:32 #38

Gullwhacker @ Sep 10 2008, 03:11 PM wrote: I've got an odd one. Just installed 1.3.1. Yes, just.

I can't aim. Or rather, if I'm charging an upgraded shot, I can aim up and down - but if i just want to throw on the fly, it's wherever I last fired. No aiming unless I'm holding down the mouse button.

Any thoughts?
I've had a related issue where, if I just click the mouse button, it still charges a stoneball, and I have to click a second time to throw it. Uses up elixirs mighty fast when that happens, and has also killed me a few times when I needed to get off a quick shot and couldn't.

This never happens at launch, but rather after a random amount of time/gameplay. I can fix it by quitting and relaunching the DC3 application, but it's very frustrating -- especially when the bug triggers at the end of a long level or chain of levels.

*Waits patiently for 1.3.2*
:SadDC:
Reply
Like

CuriosTiger
Gargoyle
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 20:07

13 Sep 2008, 19:17 #39

Playing on intermediate, I went up the giant tree to get the orb and the treasure on that level. However, as I was collecting the orb, I noticed the platform to ride back down for the treasure wasn't there. I'd not triggered it yet (I was still collecting the orb) but it was missing.

When I went down and hit the trigger, nothing happened.

I teleported back to the Ante Room (II) with the orb -- when I later went back and played the Giant Tree level again, the platform was there as expected and I was able to collect the treasure.

(I was going to post this in the support forum, but since the platform is a bit of a potential spoiler, I opted not to.)
Reply
Like

Rockhenchman
Rock Henchman
Rockhenchman
Rock Henchman
Joined: 29 Feb 2008, 15:35

18 Dec 2008, 18:11 #40

New bug (Perhaps it is not a bug, it is just a mistake, was already there in Version 1.2, I think...)

In the Underground River, I usually take Long Jumps at the small Waterfalls to get from log to log. But sometimes, Bryant gets Dizzy when he lands on the next log. And that is a big problem, because then I die when the log passes the Waterfall.
And sometimes, I can land on the log like normal...
Where is the editor?
Reply
Like