Good Vibes: A Thank You Thread

Good Vibes: A Thank You Thread

May 1st, 2012, 3:16 pm #1

Time for a much deserved thank you, and some massive good vibes.

As ya'll know - I got my degree in creative writing in 2009 and just like every other lit-kid out there, wound up working in finance.

But dammit - I'm still trying to write that great American novel. (You may remember Todd saying in the very first laid off cartoon that "Writing a novel is like, hard and stuff." Too true.)

Anyway - a small piece of mine was recently picked up by a magazine based out of Maine, which is affiliated with American Public Media and NPR. Along with publication in the magazine, they're considering it to appear on NPR's "Writer's Almanac with Garrison Keillor," and are considering it to be published in an anthology put out by The Penguin Group.

The told me all of this on a Sunday afternoon and requested that I submit to them a 125 word bio on myself by Monday morning. Oh, okay. 125 word bio, how hard can that be?

When there's a gun to your head - harder than you'd imagine.

So I banged out what I thought was sufficient and sent a FB message to one of the other board lit-kids, Ms. Annyboo herself - and asked if she could take a look at it.

Not only did Anny take a look - but she sent me three completely revised drafts.

So - I'm taking this opportunity to publicly laud and thank you, Anny, for being so wonderfully helpful and giving with your time and wisdom.

Also - a nugget from our exchange I thought you folks would find amusing:

Anny: You have a propensity for passive voice. BE AGRESSIVE my friend.
Me: I have a propensity for passive everything. I'm good at investments because I talk in a soft voice and I'm bad at dating because I ask girls if they'll mind I kiss them before I do. (Okay, I stopped doing that a while ago... thank God.)

Many fire trucks for you, Anny.

Herpes is a gift that doesn't say "I love you.". -Hep C

May 1st, 2012, 3:21 pm #2