Introductions Thread

January 19th, 2015, 1:33 am #1

Hi everyone! I'm Matsunoki, previously known as TheEar. I'm also a mod here. I was a YFU student to Japan in the summer of 2004 on the JUSSE scholarship. In 2007, after my sophomore year of college, I spent a summer working in Izmir, Turkey. I started volunteering with YFU in 2006 doing random tasks for my field director by email and in 2009 started as an area rep. It's all been great!

I'm really looking forward to connecting with new and old CSers here :-)
-> Kuwana, Japan - YFU JUSSE scholarship, summer 2004
-> Izmir, Turkey - work abroad, summer 2007
YFU volunteer area representative since 2009

January 19th, 2015, 2:03 am #2

Hey guys!
I'm nostos. I'm Canadian, but I've been a lot of other places too.
I went to Japan in 2008 with ASSE. I was meant to stay a year (2008-2009), but I left early after 6 months.
But, I decided to give Japan another shot, so now I'm living here while teaching on the JET Program. I'm on contract for 2014-2015, and signing on to stay another year.
I also hosted two students in 2008-2009 - a high schooler from Japan and a university student from France.
Canada -> Japan, 2008 (ASSE)
Canada -> Japan, 2014-2016 (JET)

January 19th, 2015, 2:14 am #3

Hello, hello!
I suppose I'll just pop in here. For reference, I have no idea what I'm doing because I have no real experience using forums. Or should I say posting on them, because I'm usually just a forum ghost.

Anyway, my name is Kenzie and I am exchange hopeful for the year of 2016. I hope to study abroad with ASSE International, despite the bit of bad reputation the US has had in the past with inbound students. My choices were slimmed down to Greenheart Travel and ASSE, and seeing as they both had the same Japanese partner, I'm choosing to go with ASSE. I would have loved to go with a more reputable program, but I'm an old fart now, and no one wants me except for those two I mentioned above. (17 y.o.)

Anyhow, nice to meet everyone.