Moderator: CTX Advisor

Joining CTX

June 7th, 2018, 9:09 am #1

Hi guys, I'm new to CT (only joined yesterday) and fairly new to ham radio (had my M6 for just over a month now). However, not new to radio operation and going up and down mountains/hills (12 years in the army) and using all modes of radio communication. I'm very keen in incorporating CTX into my SOTA (Summits on The Air) activations (does anybody else do this)? I've got 'all the gear and a bit of an idea' ha ha, and love being out and about on hills/mountains (when work permits) but mainly on Sundays, sometimes Thursdays.

I'm based in NE England near Durham and planning on my next activation (Rogans Seat) in the next week or two (once my knee is healed properly (I'm not 25 anymore!!!) from running down a mountain with weight on. Anyway, I'm waffling now, if anyone up this way (or indeed any where) has incorporated CTX with SOTA, then please give me a shout, or just give me a shout anyway with any tips etc etc, all info is gratefully received.

:cb: :cheers:
73's

Paul

M6OPV - 26CT2864

June 8th, 2018, 11:34 pm #2

Indeed some of the CTX guys are also Radio Amateurs and they do carry out both CTX and SOTA ops at the same time - with AM, FM and SSB legally at our disposal on 11m as well as PMR446 UHF, quite a bit to choose from and, if you use type approved kit on legal frequencies, there should be no conflict of interests :thumb:

In addition to the above, I can think of at least four or five ex-military guys who are also CTX members.

Last edited by Offplanet on June 9th, 2018, 5:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

June 10th, 2018, 9:49 am #3