The Zoo - The political debate thread

The Zoo - The political debate thread

September 28th, 2012, 7:10 am #1

Bascombe wrote:Saw this on facebook

sec realist
Site Admin

September 28th, 2012, 7:39 am #2

This isn't meant as a dig at Mr. Romney, but it sure looks like his chances are fading fast. Nate Silver is very good at this kind of thing, and his predictions are trending away from him.

Live with egrets, not regrets.

September 28th, 2012, 7:56 am #3

:lol:
You know, I was a lot more worried about Romney until I started looking at the methodology/assumptions of a lot of the polls/forecasts we've seen over the last 10-14 days. It make you wonder what the Dems know that is making them so scared.
"I'm Just Living The Dream!" - Chaz Reinhold

sec realist
Site Admin

September 28th, 2012, 7:59 am #4

Your'e not an unskewedpolls.com fan, are you?

September 28th, 2012, 8:11 am #5

Nope. I just build forecast models for a living. You only have to look at the internals for yourself.

It really makes you wonder.

September 28th, 2012, 8:15 am #6

Rasmussen is historically the most accurate...

sec realist
Site Admin

September 28th, 2012, 8:33 am #7

Confirmation bias is a funny thing, truly. I remember the 2004 election, searching through polling data and arguing that "cell phone only" voters were significantly underrepresented and that the models being used at the time were incorrect and skewed. I've been where you are, hoping against hope that I knew what the paid professionals - the guys who's entire careers are based on running the numbers, slicing them up, evaluating them and creating likelihoods - didn't. It was a lesson learned.

I guess the notion (that the polls are all biased) is somehow that the professionals, the ones whose reputations are on the line and future income prospects are based on getting polling data accurate, have all gotten together and created new models favoring President Obama? Or are they just suddenly incompetent?