Ranchero headers

April 8th, 2013, 7:14 pm #1

I have been searching the archives and have not came up with anything recent. My son's 1970 Ranchero GT "M code" is just about ready to pull out of the garage. However I would like to put a set of headers on it first. For now it has a FMX but we plan on a AOD. It also has air conditioning, power steering and brakes. Maybe later we will do more to the motor but for now she is stock except for a new balancer, better water pump and starter. Does anybody have recommendations for some affordable headers that will fit.

I am looking at EB** for now (the OBX ss are affordable, but I am not good at welding stainless if that is needed). But if someone here has something that will work, or recommendations, let me know. I am going to get FPA headers for my build but they are out of his $ range.

April 9th, 2013, 11:20 am #2

I currently run dydaflow headers in my 70 Ranchero. 351c 2v w/AOD. Fit ok, have to run a p/s drop dwn bracket. Quality not that good. Will consider Doug Thortly headers when time to replace, no drop dwn required.

April 9th, 2013, 1:00 pm #3

I ran a set of Blackjack headers on my 70 Torino, at the time they were a whopping 80 dollars a set, I don't even know if they still make them, but they fit ok and didn't leak..

Good luck, have your son join us and share pictures of his / your project!
~blizz

351C.net, not just any old internet car forum,

April 9th, 2013, 4:48 pm #4

I have been searching the archives and have not came up with anything recent. My son's 1970 Ranchero GT "M code" is just about ready to pull out of the garage. However I would like to put a set of headers on it first. For now it has a FMX but we plan on a AOD. It also has air conditioning, power steering and brakes. Maybe later we will do more to the motor but for now she is stock except for a new balancer, better water pump and starter. Does anybody have recommendations for some affordable headers that will fit.