is NOS safe on my setup

is NOS safe on my setup

June 28th, 2011, 9:41 pm #1

What I have is a street engine and used as such. But I'm thinking about giving it a boost when I go to the track.

351c 4v, bored .030
2 bolt main
stock rods with arp bolts
cc 4v heads
KB hyper d-cup pistons. CR is a guess at around 9.3:1
edel performer intake
headers
MSD 6al with msd dizzy
Comp cam 262xe cam. I know cam is small but I love it for the street. Lots of low end torque and idles great.
SS one piece valves
crane one peice push rods
Stock rockers - I'd like to upgrade to the yella terra, but can't seem to find a distributor in the US??? I want some the are complete bolt on. I've heard the yella terra don't even need guides.
Quick fuel 680 carb.
normal felpro head gaskets
HV oil pump with a 7 quart pan

So is it safe with this set up? and if so what would the safe limit be? 100 shot? 125 shot? I'm new at the NOS so I'm slowly looking into it.

Its in a 1970 torino gt, c4 trans, 3000 stall TC, 3.89 gears. Thanks
Last edited by davidn3 on June 28th, 2011, 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

June 29th, 2011, 1:18 am #2

You lean out. Then you'll wish you put forged pistons in it. And stay away from rev limiters on the jug. It go boom real quick.

June 29th, 2011, 10:14 am #3

http://www.holley.com/15975NOS.asp

Well, I'm sure its not explosion proof, but it looks like it has programable RPM limits and fuel pressure cutoffs.
Last edited by davidn3 on June 29th, 2011, 10:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

June 29th, 2011, 11:14 am #4