#3 cyl int.rocker slop

#3 cyl int.rocker slop

August 6th, 2012, 3:57 pm #1

i am a newbie with internal repairs
but i have a right bank tick and i pulled valve cover and and the rocker arms are all torqued to spec but the #3 intake rockers has slop to it, not a lot but a difference from the rest.
,also the intake on two there is no roll on the pushrod as far as rolling it with fingers compared to rest.
any thoughts
bad lifter on #3 ?
bent rod on #2 ?
be big be a builder

August 6th, 2012, 5:14 pm #2

Was the cam new recently? Maybe it's wiped a lobe, easily done unless great care taken to bed the cam properly. Flat tappet, right?
Cheers, Martin

August 6th, 2012, 5:38 pm #3

the car came over in 2005? god knows how old the build is.
i thought as much but i needed second opinion and can only read so much.
due to budget i am pulling from donor engine whatever i need as all parts are new
i have a new build 351M engine that i traded for
but the bellhousing does not match my c-4.
due to limited budget O ,i cannot afford new bellhousing or c-6 conversion at this time to use M engine.
i am keeping oz block c-4 combo for now.
so i think i will use new cam and timing set and lifters from M engine that has never been fired,buy new push rods for the clev block.
i have the 2v m heads with new valves that i will use also, i figure the springs and rockers and everything is fitted to cam combo .
this will give me a chance to redo oz heads
and re bearing lower end.and i have a older friend that has years of rebuild experience that will help with measuring and specs.
be big be a builder

August 7th, 2012, 1:09 am #4

You could have wear on your fulcrums & rocker arms. I would pull the pushrods out and check for straightness. If straight, I would pull intake and check lifters for wear. If all good get a couple of .060 over pushrods.
Andy

August 7th, 2012, 3:01 am #5

friday the 13 the timing jumped and i replaced the timing set and fuel pump.