Moderator: oldtime

derekredmond

April 30th, 2018, 2:27 am #21

Great work and great documentation Rus! Thanks!

Derek

Derek Redmond
Kingston, Canada
1959 CJ-3B
http://CJ3B.info/About.html

Rus Curtis

August 31st, 2018, 2:28 am #22

My next project is the parking lights.  It seems that originally they were a one wire, one filament bulb:

But the Parts Manual (PM) also shows in GROUP 35-59 - DIRECTIONAL SIGNAL LIGHTS, there was an available accessory to add turn signals.

My jeep came with dual wire parking lights.  I don't know if they were the listed optional upgraded turn signal lights or something a Previous Owner (PO) had swapped in from another jeep model at some point. 

What I do know is the housing looks similar (as best I can tell from the illustration quality) and from the existing wires, I note one is cloth covered and the other vinyl covered but the colors match the wires provided from Vintage Wiring of Maine (VWM).

When I studied my new wires from VWM, they were supplied without the internal parts for the housing.  They did come with a rubber outer sleeve to match the ones my lights already had. 

Researching what to do, I found an article on the 3B Page, by Don Norris, http://cj3b.info/Tech/ParkingLights.html .  I noted my housings looked very similar to his as well.  I knew exactly what he was doing and got my hacksaw out in preparation to alter my housings - at this point, I saw no way of further disassembly.  I still needed to go find the aftermarket sockets but had just about made up my mind on this course - it was straight forward and simple.

Then I thought, if I'm going to cut the back of this socket off, I'd like to know how it was put together.  After pulling the wires out, I got an awl out and started digging at the rubber tube that was inserted into the back of the socket.  I then used a sharp pair of needle nose pliers.  All I managed to do was rip off the tube.  It was still firmly attached down in what appeared to be a slot.