New here and to the job

New here and to the job

August 11th, 2010, 12:08 pm #1

I have been working as a cna for 8 months on an early dementia unit. Previous I worked 6 months of home care before I went to CNA school.
I am so glad I found you all...I wondered if most facilities are as bad as mine (which has some super high rating for patient care?!) and after a few hours of reading I guess it is universal...short staffed, horrible patient to caregiver ratio,staff being required to work sick , all these things make no sense to me. I actually believed that nurses work be the most caring people to work around...NOT.
I love my residents, but am now considering changing jobs and just volunteering at a nursing home..doing the things I never have time to now...taking a few residents for a walk outside, doing manicure and reading to the ones with no family to visit. the whole thing is very discouraging.

August 11th, 2010, 4:53 pm #2

CNA's have a lot to do!! Basically it is just toileting, changing, feeding and dressing. But it doesn't have to be!! Once you really get to know your residents, the tasks will be easier, and you will find ways to do essential tasks more quickly, giving you an extra five minutes to pamper your residents. I have learned to raise a bed, put soap on a washcloth, and take off a gown all at the same time, just so I can wash underarms, apply deoderant and lotion!!! I know it sounds crazy, but I do it so my residents feel clean and fresh before they get up for breakfast!! About twice a week I try to clip fingernails and shave residents, but I always run out of time!!! This is on 3rd shift.
You can be a CNA and a loving caretaker, but it takes practice, and sometimes you just cannot do it all!!! Glad to see a caring person here! thakns for all you do!!

August 11th, 2010, 8:45 pm #3