Alzheimers

Alzheimers

pixiedust
pixiedust

April 14th, 2006, 6:42 pm #1

we have a 50 year old in the place i work ,its very hard to feed her,
does any one know of a way to get her to eat she puts her teeth together any there is no way
to get food in, but the other day i put food on the spoon with ice cream on the front and
she did eat some this way after a long time.And we can;t get the bosses to just
make her a one on one feeder and it hard when you have 2 more to feed,because it take the whole hour with her but they dont try to feed her they should try then they would know what we have been
talking about.she will not open her mouth to drink all her take is what you wet her lips with.
any ideals that i can try?

April 14th, 2006, 10:05 pm #2

When you find a way, let me know. I work in a hospital. The 'dirty little secret' there is very often, when we get feeders, they really don't get fed. Same problem ---- you can't spend the amount of time with one patient that it takes to get them to eat, so you get a few spoonfuls, if any, in, then leave it at that. I've always encourage my family, and extended family, that if they know anyone in that type of condition and they want to visit with them, go during mealtime and try feeding them.

pixiedust
pixiedust

April 14th, 2006, 10:53 pm #3

her family comes close to mealtime but they leave before time to feed at lunch time
wonder why, so they can complain that she not eating.

April 15th, 2006, 4:50 am #4

does any one know of a way to get her to eat she puts her teeth together any there is no way
to get food in, but the other day i put food on the spoon with ice cream on the front and
make her a one on one feeder and it hard when you have 2 more to feed,because it take the whole hour with her but they dont try to feed her they should try then they would know what we have been
talking about.she will not open her mouth to drink all her take is what you wet her lips with.