Hammocks

August 19th, 2018, 5:11 pm #1

Just got back from a week up north. We saw a bunch of hammocks in use as primary sleeping quarters. I love the idea of the weight. Wonder how they sleep, handle adverse weather and mosquitoes. Do you still use a pad? Anyone make the leap from tent to hammock? What are some good ones to look at? What about people with back issues?

August 22nd, 2018, 5:30 pm #2

I never sleep overnight night in them but, without fail, I will fall asleep in them when I'm reading or relaxing. On my trip a few weeks ago when we had a few cooler days/evenings, I did put my thermarest in my Grand Trunk hammock to keep from getting so chilly. Not sure I would want to sleep all night that way, made it warmer but kinda awkward if you move around a lot. I'm sure they must make pads that are made to fit or ?  Also, I am not good at knot-tying so I am constantly aware that I may fall to the ground at any given time. Probably wouldn't get a sound sleep on that note.
-Kathy

August 26th, 2018, 9:06 pm #3

Knot tying is important, especially if you don't have a sharp knife.  I got straps with a row of loops and carbines that take the worry out of my 200# plus body tightening my "slippery " knots.  Anyone selling hammocks should have the straps..

August 27th, 2018, 11:27 am #4

Thanks John. I have seen those very straps on YouTube users videos and they look very handy. From what I have seen, by the time you purchase an under quilt, a tarp, the hammock and the straps, the cost is about the same as buying a tent and sleeping bag. The amount of gear isn't that much different either because you either need a top quilt or a sleeping bag with the hammock. I think it comes down to sleeping comfort at this point.