New to the Scene

This is the general discussion area of the canadiansoldiers.com website; a forum in which issues pertaining to 20th Century military history from a British and Canadian perspective can be discussed freely. Posters are asked to please do others the courtesy of posting with their name rather than a pseudonym.

New to the Scene

March 26th, 2007, 4:06 am #1

Hi Everyone,

I came across this website a few years ago, and I've been consulting it on a fairly regular basis ever since. I've been collecting for a few years now, but I'm still pretty new to the whole scene. Unfortunately my status as a university student severely limits my financial means, thereby limiting my ability to pick up some items I would really like to, but I do what I can.
I've been reading through some of the posts on the forum here, and I was wondering how you all hear about the various militaria shows in and around Ontario? I scoured the net a few months back trying to find any, without much success.

Thanks,

Fletcher Johnston

Ed Storey
Ed Storey

March 26th, 2007, 9:26 am #2

Many are word of mouth or listed in collectors magazines. Once you have been to one you can get the fliers for the others as they are usually at the admissions table. The Ottawa Militaria show is on the April 15 at the Nepean Sportsplex, it is a good show with some interesting stuff.

March 26th, 2007, 1:42 pm #3

Thanks for the quick reply, Ed. Unfortunately for me, the 15th falls right in the middle of my exams. Are there any shows during the summer months?
Also, could you point me in the direction of a good collector's magazine? Are there any Canadian ones? I looked around a while back, and of course found the French Militaria magazine, but I couldn't find any Canadian publications.

Thanks,
Fletcher Johnston

Jaime Cline
Jaime Cline

March 26th, 2007, 3:44 pm #4