Cousin Gwilym: Green Fileds

This is the general discussion area of the canadiansoldiers.com website; a forum in which issues pertaining to 20th Century military history from a British and Canadian perspective can be discussed freely. Posters are asked to please do others the courtesy of posting with their name rather than a pseudonym.

Cousin Gwilym: Green Fileds

Megan Smith
Megan Smith

February 20th, 2010, 3:05 pm #1

Gwilym Jones, M.M. wrote the book TO THE GREEN FIELDS BEYOND: A SOLDIER'S STORY. I am a college student and have been looking to learn of my family's history. I found this book in my home, signed from "your cousin gwilym." I was extremely excited to see this. My uncle Alan had sent it along to my home years ago, direct from cousin Gwilym. I was hoping someone out here in the wide vast of the Internet might be able to lead me closer to finding him.

Iechyd da,
Megan

February 20th, 2010, 8:36 pm #2

I read the book and have a copy myself somewhere. Can't help locating the author, but if memory serves, he was a soldier in the Three Rivers Regiment, which today is known as 12e Régiment blindé du Canada. You can find the current regiment online athttp://www.12rbc.ca/ - perhaps their regimental association can help you find him or his family.
Michael Dorosh
Webmaster
canadiansoldiers.com

Megan Smith
Megan Smith

February 20th, 2010, 10:58 pm #3

Thank you. I'll look into this. I really hope to find out more about him and my family.

Jon Skagfeld
Jon Skagfeld

February 21st, 2010, 1:05 am #4

Gwilym Jones, M.M. wrote the book TO THE GREEN FIELDS BEYOND: A SOLDIER'S STORY. I am a college student and have been looking to learn of my family's history. I found this book in my home, signed from "your cousin gwilym." I was extremely excited to see this. My uncle Alan had sent it along to my home years ago, direct from cousin Gwilym. I was hoping someone out here in the wide vast of the Internet might be able to lead me closer to finding him.

Iechyd da,
Megan