Moderators: The Double D, Viclav, Johnny Yuma, GrantR Canada, Carignan Salieres

Tips for shooting Hornady .570 balls in a PH P61 Enfield?

11:26 PM - Oct 10, 2018 #1

Please understand this carbine will most likely be on a Pritchett cartridge diet as soon as I can make it happen  However I just bought it and will be shooting .570 swaged balls due to availability and expedience for some time.  Also I've no experience with BP shooting really.  I have or sourced CCI musket caps, swaged balls, Goex FFFG, and sturdy used blue jean's patches.  I am just making do with this initial process but still want to try and develop a load work up that is target accurate to 100 meters.

Advice on loading, process, lube, countering fouling, and understanding the implications of progressive depth rifling are most welcome.

Bob

rd72
Veteran of the Regiment
rd72
Veteran of the Regiment

1:07 AM - Oct 11, 2018 #2

HI Bob.  I think that with blue jean and a .570 ball you'll be hard pressed to get it down... how thick is the jean?..
Cheers,Rob

martinibelgian
Veteran of the Regiment
martinibelgian
Veteran of the Regiment

7:10 PM - Oct 11, 2018 #3

Fast twist and round ball usually is not the best combination, that would require small powder charges to avoid stripping...
And the progressive rifling won't help much either.

FGD135
Colour Sergeant
FGD135
Colour Sergeant

8:47 PM - Oct 11, 2018 #4

You're going to want to use patch material much thinner than most jean material with the .570 round balls, and you'll also need a ball starter in addition to the normal ram rod. Alternatively, there are several sellers of precast Minie balls on Gunbroker--you might try the minies before messing with the rb's. A .575 diameter old style Lyman minie  shoots very well in my PH carbine at 50 yards.

9:19 PM - Oct 11, 2018 #5