Moderators: KeenWink, tilepusher, readymade

drpack
Registered User
drpack
Registered User
Joined: 3:02 AM - Feb 01, 2007

12:27 AM - Aug 21, 2007 #31

Using the permutations method, I created biding aids in Microsoft Word for Fort Lauderdale and West Palm Beach. There are 6 free rebid zones when biding on a 4* in the Palm Beach Gardens. That's 64 bids. Needless to say, I never have to bid more than one day to get a 4* hotel there.
Quote
Like
Share

dmk
Registered User
dmk
Registered User
Joined: 1:20 AM - May 04, 2002

2:16 PM - Aug 22, 2007 #32

"The secret is to START A BRAND NEW BID. When you do this, you can create any zone combination you want. It is key to maximizing your rebids--in fact, to truly maximize them, you’ll need to start a new bid on every other attempt, as you’ll see below. To start a new bid, just go back to the main Priceline screen (using the A-B link, of course!), and go through the bid process like you’re just starting."

I have used PL for about 5 years now. I am feeling very dense. Everytime I try to START A BRAND NEW BID, I keep getting that I have made a "Duplicate Request". I have read what you have written many times now but... Any ideas of what I could be doing wrong?
Quote
Like
Share

lindastribling
Registered User
lindastribling
Registered User
Joined: 8:29 AM - Aug 24, 2007

1:29 AM - Aug 24, 2007 #33

Hi,
I am new to the bidding for travel. After I read all of the hotel faqs... I have tried to find the bidding assistance form but can not find it. ?? Can you tell me where it is?
I am going to San Antonio for 2 days and would like to use Priceline. I would like to have someone help me so that is why I want the form.
Thanks in advance.
Linda
Quote
Like
Share

GeoNit
Registered User
GeoNit
Registered User
Joined: 12:08 AM - Jul 10, 2003

2:00 PM - Aug 24, 2007 #34

Quote
Like
Share

verkuilb
Registered User
verkuilb
Registered User
Joined: 10:46 AM - Aug 10, 2002

5:40 PM - Aug 27, 2007 #35

dmk, it sounds like you've made an error in your rebid sequencing. The error message you're getting is the one that you get when the bid you're making is either identical to or part of a previous bid. For example, if you previously bid on A+B+D, and now try to place a bid for A, or B+D, or any other combination consisting of only those zones, you'll get this error. You need to bid a combination that hasn't been bid before, even if it was previously part of another bid. This is why sequencing your bids correctly is so important in permutation bidding.

If this isn't what you're doing, then I honestly don't know what's happening. We'd need more details of what you're doing (both in the bid that is causing the error, and in any other bids up to 24 hours prior to that) to have any chance of diagnosing it.
Quote
Like
Share

jeffjay100
Registered User
jeffjay100
Registered User
Joined: 11:59 AM - May 14, 2006

3:41 AM - Oct 05, 2007 #36

It's been very handy to copy verkuilb's permutation list of rebids (the xb+a, etc.) and then cut and paste or use the replace function to put in the zones (Thanks verkuilb!). Any whiz care to make the same kind of format showing the best way to maximize the number of bids when you have 2 or 3 zones that are acceptable and 2 or 3 free rebid zones?
Quote
Like
Share

jeffjay100
Registered User
jeffjay100
Registered User
Joined: 11:59 AM - May 14, 2006

4:30 AM - Oct 05, 2007 #37

It's been very handy to copy verkuilb's permutation list of rebids (the xb+a, etc.) and then cut and paste or use the replace function to put in the zones (Thanks verkuilb!). Any whiz care to make the same kind of format showing the best way to maximize the number of bids when you have 2 or 3 zones that are acceptable and 2 or 3 free rebid zones?
Quote
Like
Share

verkuilb
Registered User
verkuilb
Registered User
Joined: 10:46 AM - Aug 10, 2002

2:07 PM - Oct 05, 2007 #38

jeffjay100, check Geonit's permutation matrix post, but be sure to read through the whole thing (including all the responses) just to be sure you have a full understanding of it before diving in.
Quote
Like
Share

dragonmcp
Registered User
dragonmcp
Registered User
Joined: 4:37 AM - Jan 15, 2008

9:37 PM - Jan 14, 2008 #39

Thanks for the great advice. I was having a little trouble keeping my abc's under control so I created an Excel sheet for one acceptable zone and up to 5 re bidding zones. Just replace X, A, B, C etc with the zone names, print out and it makes the rebidding process a little easier.
Send me a pm if you would like a copy.
Quote
Like
Share

leigh
Registered User
leigh
Registered User
Joined: 6:56 PM - Jul 11, 2008

6:56 PM - Jul 11, 2008 #40

Even if you're logged in to your account, does PL consider it a new bid?
Quote
Like
Share