Priceline not as good as it once was???

Moderators: KeenWink, tilepusher, readymade

Priceline not as good as it once was???

kh3737444

15 Feb 2014, 14:35 #1

I have been using Priceline  for many years for my Hotel stays   ,(I can remember using them for gas and groceries back in the day)  ,but ever since they have started the express bidding ,I have noticed a real decrease in the deals that can be had by bidding  .I usually check Hotwire  to compare what I can get on Priceline, and Priceline at one time usually would always beat Hotwire by 10-20 pct ,but not anymore .I have even booked some of my stays with Hilton hotels through there website since I'm  a gold member with them I have to weigh if its worth saving 10.00 dollars at a Hyatt  Hotel (in the same stars and zone ) or paying $10.00 more and get the free breakfast and WiFi, I get as a gold member and accumulate more points with Hilton .I'm wondering If Priceline is moving toward phasing out the bidding process and going more   toward the express bidding much like  Hotwire model of doing business?

Sheryl

15 Feb 2014, 15:49 #2

I honestly don't think it's fair that you are posting this since you haven't posting a Priceline bid to this forum in nearly two years. Why are you asking our members to share that with you when you haven't shared with others?
Please place all of your Priceline bids through our Priceline link.
Please check rates at Hotwire and make your bookings through our Hotwire link.

Travelwonk

23 Mar 2014, 20:50 #3

I am also finding that Priceline is less useful than it used to be ( at least in NYC). There is now only one bidding zone less than 4* (Morningside Heights at 3.5 *). It means that there are fewer free re-bids available, and given that NYC is a last minute bidding place, one cannot wait the 24 hours to submit a new bid. I know that there are several 5* zones now.

Sheryl

23 Mar 2014, 21:01 #4