What to Charge?

What to Charge?

Suzie
Suzie

March 20th, 2012, 9:20 pm #1

I was looking at "Free Shows" email from back in October, as I was checking out the older emails. Being a new Vent, I am always looking for ideas and help where I can get it.
Would it be okay to ask what is reasonable to charge for doing a program or show? Since I am a beginner I have primarily been doing Children Messages at Church, during the Church Service. I volunteer my time there of course, cause I did before I had started using the puppets. I was primarily a Storyteller. But, now that my Puppet Ministry is starting to draw some attention, I have been invited to come and do other programs out of our Church. So far, no one has offered me anything other than a thank you. But then again, I haven't asked for anything. I just check my calendar. If I am free I go. Plus I have volunteered for a few programs on my own behalf just to get known that I do the Venting with Puppets. Again...my idea...to use me...so there was no way I was going to ask for money. I am trying to get my foot in the door. Now that people are starting to work their way into asking me to come different places. Is there a standard you all go by? I thought about donations only at one point, but was not sure if that is okay or a good idea....??? With gas prices going up, and of course me wanting more Axtell Puppets. I probably should think very seriously about charging, but then again, I am not sure. {:->

March 20th, 2012, 11:07 pm #2

I guess a little depends on the market, where you live. How much would a magician or ventriloquist charge in your area?

Then I would suggest that you charge less. Not because I want you to undercut them, but that you do not have the experience yet. As your act improves and you get positive feedback, then you can charge more.

If you were the client, how much would you want to pay for your act?

The last thing I would want if I were you, is for the client to think you ripped them off.