Problems, Problems, Problems

Problems, Problems, Problems

May 12th, 2012, 2:55 pm #1

What are some of the biggest hurdles or problems you are facing as an entertainer?

Suzie
Suzie

May 12th, 2012, 5:05 pm #2

Great question Ax.

At the moment I am a beginner. One of my problems is learning my audience. Even if the audience is about the same age and same sex the routine may go extremely well with one audience, and tumble down hill with the next audience.
Ouch...that sucks.
A problem is recovering when you can tell that you are starting to tumble down that hill. How do you claw back up without them noticing?

I also had a problem with a one horse pony routine with one of my puppets. I just couldn't seem to get a handle on what to do differently with this puppet. The Vents in the Forum were fantastic with giving encouragement and helping with some fresh ideas. But...there was still a problem with this puppet and me making the change.
Finally though I took the advise from the Forum Vents and added a different twist to their ideas which clicked with some of my ideas and I finally gave the puppet a different personality.
The change in the puppets personality really made it work. So, I would say one of the problems for me is getting stuck in a rut and just not knowing how to get un-stuck and change a routine that just isn't going any where.

The other problem I can see starting to happen. Which may be an easy fix???
When working with older adults (Nursing Home facility). They wear out fast. The facility has you slated for 45 minutes to an hour, but your material is only holding them for a solid 30 minutes or maybe less. Is there any hints on perking them up again? Or are they down for the count because they are old? The ones I am talking about are volunteering during your skit.