A request for potential audition song ideas!

November 15th, 2008, 1:19 am #1

Hi everyone,

I'm looking for ideas for good audition songs for me. Unfortunately, since I studied opera, the things that I sing don't really fit my "type." I'm an adult but I look very young, could pass for a teenager. But I'm not a belter, and most musical theatre songs that suit my type are belty. Can anyone throw me some ideas for audition songs that aren't belty but might suit me, have a "young" flavor to them? I'll take any suggestions!

Thanks!
Last edited by -Grief- on November 15th, 2008, 1:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Jessica
Jessica

November 15th, 2008, 7:15 am #2

Im over 18, but I play pretty young onstage. My soprano range is much stronger than my belt, so Im no stranger to looking for soprano songs with a young flair. I use The Glamorous Life from the film version of A Little Night Music, and I've had pretty good luck with that. It's Fredrika's song, if you aren't familiar with it, and she's right in the age range that I play. It is Sondheim, but I haven't had a problem with accompanists playing it.

I also use If You Haven't Got A Sweetheart from A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. It's a simple, sweet little song. Look Who's Dancing is a decent up-tempo from the same show. I've had good experiences using Young Jane's portion of The Graveyard from Jane Eyre. Jane Eyre is on a lot of overdone lists, but that song isn't available in the vocal selections so it doesn't get as much attention.

That is all that I can think of for now; though Im sure Ill come up with more suggestions later. Good luck!

JB
JB

November 15th, 2008, 5:45 pm #3

Hi everyone,