Diorama: Green Hell or Green Pizza?

danny_1960
Silver Star
Silver Star

November 16th, 2017, 6:40 pm #1

I'm making a diorama base as an experiment. I made just a few dioramas, more vignettes than dioramas, really, using some Matchbox bases and plasticard, as you can find in my Portfolio. In the eighties I made some using Esci vac-u-forms (then I had Bastogne and Arnheim, but I don't have them anymore, because I didn't like them) and even some Airfix base that I used recently for displaying the scratchbuilt guns.
I've read a little about using cardboard bases and acryllic paints; i also read Mike Smith's page about Scenery for Wargames, and I like it a lot. Nevertheless, I don't have a great ability at painting or making terrains. My excuses if it isn't great, but I'm just learning.
Last edited by danny_1960 on November 17th, 2017, 1:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

danny_1960
Silver Star
Silver Star

November 16th, 2017, 7:41 pm #2

Raw materials:
A white carboard sheet, aproximately 30x40cm
Green acryllic paint (I employed Acrylex, a Brazilian brand).
General varnish.
Sand; coarse grained.
Pebble
Oregano (marjoram).
Little wood splinters and sawdust.
Acryllic glue (white glue).

wingnutmike
Gold & Silver Stars
Gold & Silver Stars

November 16th, 2017, 9:27 pm #3

You forgot the pics Daniel.
Mike

danny_1960
Silver Star
Silver Star

November 17th, 2017, 12:39 am #4

No, Mike. They're coming now.
I took the carboard and put some UHU glue in one corner, forming a circle. Over that, I put some pieces of pebble to form a small stone group. Then, I added sand to this group. Second, I added acrylic glue liberally and sand on that, to form little "islands" of sand. My first thougt was to let visible that islands.