Pitcher hitting then being replaced

Pitcher hitting then being replaced

waynef
Registered User
waynef
Registered User
Joined: October 24th, 2003, 2:14 am

June 13th, 2018, 1:42 pm #1

I have seen this issue years ago ... it pops up from time to time ....

Pitcher hits in the inning then is immediately replaced when he goes to the mound .... why isnt a PH used to hit for the pitcher?

Stafford bats in the bottom of the Inning and then the CM calls for a new pitcher

I managed the Sox ... CM is the Yanks ... As Played Season, League game

issue.jpg
Wayne
Quote
Like
Share

LancePower
Registered User
LancePower
Registered User
Joined: June 23rd, 2013, 11:17 pm

June 13th, 2018, 7:26 pm #2

It's the Pitcher's "Pinch Hit For" settings on the Manager's Tab.

I don't believe the program is interpreting them correctly.  It treats them as "I can not pinch hit for until X inning" instead of "I may or may not hit for until x inning, but then I have to".
"Baseball is a game of professional athletes and amateur statisticians." 
Quote
Like
Share

radio123
Registered User
radio123
Registered User
Joined: November 2nd, 2012, 2:32 pm

June 13th, 2018, 7:41 pm #3

Is Ramos listed in the CM as closer?

If so, it looks like the CM decided to let Stafford hit because NY had taken the lead, but then, when the inning was over, decided to bring Ramos in to hold the lead. In that era, it was not uncommon for a reliever to come in for a two inning save.

A human manager would say "if I'm taking him out anyway, might as well hit for him," but a computer might see the decisions whether to pinch hit, then whether to change pitchers as separate.
Quote
Like
Share

canadagooseh
Registered User
canadagooseh
Registered User
Joined: August 15th, 2009, 6:31 pm

June 16th, 2018, 5:25 pm #4

I’ve done the same thing, not paying attention and let the pitcher hit when I should have PH for him, and bring in a reliever to pitch next inning. I doubt the AI is not paying attention like me...lol. I am curious as well Wayne, that is a great rendition of a 1960s Yankee Stadium. Can I ask where you got it?
 Thanks
Quote
Like
Share

waynef
Registered User
waynef
Registered User
Joined: October 24th, 2003, 2:14 am

June 16th, 2018, 9:51 pm #5

canadagooseh wrote:  I am curious as well Wayne, that is a great rendition of a 1960s Yankee Stadium. Can I ask where you got it?
 Thanks
try here .... its been so long Im not sure where I got the pic
name-that-ballpark-t17024.html
Wayne
Quote
Like
Share