Diamox

Diamox

January 6th, 2007, 2:10 am #1

Anyone use it? Would you consider it cheating? As directed by a physician, of course.

January 6th, 2007, 3:44 am #2

Worked well for me going from sea level to Wheeler's summit in less than 24 hours.

Next time around I woke up early, took it on an empty stomach, had some cheap Dunkin' Donuts "breakfast" and boarded an early morning flight to Phoenix - on which I almost passed out. Figured it had to be the Diamox and haven't gone back to it since. My doc thought that was a good idea (the staying away from it part).

Your results may vary, I'm not a doctor, yaddyadya.

January 6th, 2007, 9:33 am #3

I've read a couple of Denali reports that have me semi-convinced to use it for Denali (if ever), but i'd like to hear more experiences too.

January 6th, 2007, 1:06 pm #4

Anyone use it? Would you consider it cheating? As directed by a physician, of course.
In the words of the immortal W.C. Fields, "A thing worth having is worth cheating for."

-hojo

January 6th, 2007, 6:40 pm #5

I have never used it. I do not consider it cheating. If it keeps you from getting AMS (or something worse) so you can enjoy a big mountain, use it. We all have spent alot of time and $ to climb/hike. I'd hate for somebody to get sick and not be able to enjoy a trip b/c they felt like it was "cheating". Go hike and enjoy. ps, I have been accused of being a dr.

January 6th, 2007, 10:09 pm #6

I used it when I attempted Mount McKinley in 2003. Diamox is NOT a preventive medication. It only works to treat AMS, not to prevent its occurrence. If I were to attempt McKinley again, I would take some along "just in case." I don't consider it cheating in any sense of the word.

January 6th, 2007, 11:00 pm #7

I was under the impression that Diamox was exactly that - preventative. You're supposed to start taking it several days before being exposed to altitude (says the guy who had a problem using it).