Chester Vermont wants you!

Chester Vermont wants you!

June 13th, 2013, 4:14 pm #1

Hello, For those who have found this and do not know me, I'm Barre Pinske. I have been a professional artist for 30 years. I made this posting because in terms of the cost of living and potential income, I believe Chester VT may be one of the best places for artists in the Northeast. You can buy a building on Rte 103 starting at $109,000. The coolest thing is, Chester is a town that has not been dissected from travelers by a freeway, making Rte. 103 an old Route 66 type of roadway. Interstate 91 drops folks off at exit 6 and they head north on Rte. 103 from there. People from Manhattan and eastern NY, CT, RI, and western Mass, head to Okemo, Killington, the Southern part of Lake Champlain, lake Boomaseen, and all towns directly North go through Chester. They have no choice. They need to go through town to get to where they want to go! This means money right by the front door. Tourism in general; Skiers, maple sugaring, summer vacationers, and leaf peepers in the fall, all travel through Chester. Fairfield County in CT is the richest county in the US. Many folks from that area vacation North and own second homes in the area. I have had three different galleries on Cape Cod. I wanted a location with year round business at a reasonable price point. I have found that here in Chester. I have been here for six years now and believe Chester is undiscovered because it is a pass-through town rather than a destination. Its potential has been overlooked. I would like to see glass blowers, potters, furniture makers, and painters in our town. Not only to cull the road but to become a destination. The money is already here. We do not need to convince people to come here. They are already on their way. That is the major difference from many areas looking to the Arts for economic development. I never thought I’d see the day when the country would turn to Artists to help with economic growth. That d