Earned or Deserved... Your Thoughts

Earned or Deserved... Your Thoughts

July 4th, 2008, 1:49 am #1

Through my years (ok... really bad time for a song to get stuck in your head)in Kenpo, Boy Scouts, etc. I have heard and read people stating that so and so "deserved" the rank, award, or whatever was presented to them.

Each time, I have had that feeling you get when someone drags their fingernails down a chalk board.

I truly believe that things like being promoted to a black belt rank, receiving a promotion at work, receiving your Eagle Scout (Boy Scouts)/Gold Badge (Girl Scouts), etc. is something to be earned. To say that you, or anyone else for that matter, "deserve" it seems to detract from the accomplishment.

What are your thoughts on earned or deserved?

Salute,
Brad

July 4th, 2008, 4:18 am #2

As a school teacher, I tell my kids that I don't give grades, I reward performance. They get it. The deserve their grades because they have earned them, whether they are good grades or bad ones, they earned them.

I'm trying to imagine "deserving" something you didn't also "earn" and I'm having a tough time doing it. Someone with a better understanding of semantics will undoubtedly set me straight. Of course, I deserve to be set straight...if I'm wrong.

Take it out on the heavy bag,

Chuck Peterson
peterson_charlie@hotmail.com

July 4th, 2008, 4:19 am #3

Through my years (ok... really bad time for a song to get stuck in your head)in Kenpo, Boy Scouts, etc. I have heard and read people stating that so and so "deserved" the rank, award, or whatever was presented to them.

Each time, I have had that feeling you get when someone drags their fingernails down a chalk board.