crosman 147 reseal

crosman 147 reseal

January 2nd, 2011, 9:34 am #1

Happy new year to all. I am a newbie to air rifles and need some guidance. I have a crosman 147 that I enjoyed as a child and well into my teen years. My son is almost eight, and I want him to enjoy this rifle as he grows. I have the rifle pretty well apart and I have a reseal kit for it. I feel confident that I can get it back together, but am uncertain about some things. Is there anywhere I can get my paws on a detailed print that shows the proper way to put it back together? I've seen the one on the crosman website, but it is too grainy for fine details. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Jon

January 2nd, 2011, 4:48 pm #2

Check out Nick Carter's blog on the subject - pages 121-125.
http://anotherairgunblog.blogspot.com/2 ... index.html

Pay special attention to the quad seal inside of the blow off portion of the valve. That's probably the most critical in getting the gun to work again.

"but I'll be needin' that gun, fer squirrels and such."

January 3rd, 2011, 10:09 am #3

Thank you for the link, it is very helpful. I really like all the pics. Another member e mailed a detailed diagram of the innards, and that is helpful as well. I have a couple of novice questions, though. I have no clue what the quad seal is and when I took the whole thing apart, there were two sear springs intertwined. The diagram and the pics only show one spring. Was this a modification to make the rifle more powerful, or just an old rebuild mistake? Jon

January 3rd, 2011, 6:24 pm #4

I can't tell you about the spring deal but a quad seal is a flat rubber ring . For me, the original seal didn't look anything like the new one in the kit. In fact, it was so worn out that I had to clean up the inside just to realize the black part used to be the quad seal. HTH

January 3rd, 2011, 10:52 pm #5