Can I fill from a fire extinguisher?

Can I fill from a fire extinguisher?

Joined: October 19th, 2009, 3:46 pm

June 15th, 2012, 4:34 pm #1

I am putting my bulk fill 2240 together for the first but I don't have a full bottle yet. I have 3 full CO2 extunguishers that were taken out of service. Can I charge my gun with tham?
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 28th, 2010, 12:23 am

June 15th, 2012, 6:49 pm #2

Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 28th, 2010, 12:23 am

June 15th, 2012, 8:04 pm #3

I am putting my bulk fill 2240 together for the first but I don't have a full bottle yet. I have 3 full CO2 extunguishers that were taken out of service. Can I charge my gun with tham?
Last edited by robnewyork on June 16th, 2012, 12:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 28th, 2008, 6:45 am

June 15th, 2012, 9:23 pm #4

I am putting my bulk fill 2240 together for the first but I don't have a full bottle yet. I have 3 full CO2 extunguishers that were taken out of service. Can I charge my gun with tham?
CO2 fire extinguishers contain just that...have 30+lbs of them myself, and have used them. They even come setup with a dip tube making filling easy.

Don't overfill okay?

Gotta love FREE co2.

Al
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 23rd, 2012, 11:10 pm

June 15th, 2012, 10:57 pm #5

I am putting my bulk fill 2240 together for the first but I don't have a full bottle yet. I have 3 full CO2 extunguishers that were taken out of service. Can I charge my gun with tham?
... my local Fire extinguisher service center, and the local PraxAir guys, yes !

Be very careful about over-fill, though.

I'd use one, except I don't already have one, and they're bloody expensive !
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 23rd, 2012, 11:10 pm

June 16th, 2012, 12:18 am #6

And because you may be right, ( I'm not an extinguisher guy either ) I'd have it checked, verified, confirmed, emptied and refilled, before I used it.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: October 19th, 2009, 3:46 pm

June 16th, 2012, 3:32 am #7

... my local Fire extinguisher service center, and the local PraxAir guys, yes !

Be very careful about over-fill, though.

I'd use one, except I don't already have one, and they're bloody expensive !
With CO2 liquid expanding at a specific rate at a specific temperature shouldn't the pressure be about the same as a powerlet? I have built a 15" cromoly tube on my 2240 to hold the gas.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: July 6th, 2005, 5:26 am

June 16th, 2012, 3:36 am #8

... my local Fire extinguisher service center, and the local PraxAir guys, yes !

Be very careful about over-fill, though.

I'd use one, except I don't already have one, and they're bloody expensive !
What I did is I found a 15lb co2 tank at a canteen service that was out of hydro. Gave them $10 then took it to a welding supply and paid for the hydro....$18 then I was able to get an exchange for a full tank for around $17 more.
after a few refills they quit handling 15lb tanks so they upgraded me to 20lb for just the price of the gas. A bit over $1 a pound. Now I always have a fresh tank that is always in hydro. Go with a welding supply get a tank and do the exchange bit. You do have to make an upside down mount....no dip tubes on exchange welding tanks. But it only takes a min. to carry a tank in and get a new filled one, no waiting. john
Last edited by jct842 on June 16th, 2012, 3:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: February 17th, 2010, 3:30 am

June 16th, 2012, 4:21 am #9

With CO2 liquid expanding at a specific rate at a specific temperature shouldn't the pressure be about the same as a powerlet? I have built a 15" cromoly tube on my 2240 to hold the gas.
A properly filled tank contains 7/18 oz. CO2 per cubic inch of volume.... Overfilling by only 30% can cause pressures to skyrocket as the tank warms up from chilled to room temperature.... A properly filled CO2 container is only about half full of liquid CO2 by volume, depending on temperature....

Bob
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 23rd, 2012, 11:10 pm

June 16th, 2012, 12:29 pm #10

With CO2 liquid expanding at a specific rate at a specific temperature shouldn't the pressure be about the same as a powerlet? I have built a 15" cromoly tube on my 2240 to hold the gas.
Look here...

Quote
Like
Share