cryonics organization alternatives

cryonics organization alternatives

September 12th, 2007, 12:14 am #1

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting. I am interested in someday signing up with one of the cryonics organizations. Does anyone know if the cryonics organizations ever agree to alternative (and possibly cheaper) ways to preserve people (or even pets). I am not saying that these alternatives are in any way close to being as effective as the "usual" way of preserving things. For example: 1. Besides straight freezing a person, they could use a different chemical fixation (glycerol?) at lower temperatures? 2. Instead of straight freezing a pet, they could place the animal in a dry ice container (or would this be as expensive as placing it in liquid nitrogen?).
Please let me know what you think of these possible methods. And sorry for my lack of familiarity with the terms (I am learning).

September 12th, 2007, 1:23 pm #2

I don't know if they offer any options cheaper than the straight freeze. I've heard speculation about the viability of chemical fixatives and permafrost burials, but none of the agencies offer those as far as I know.

--
<a target="_blank" href="http://www.proxy7.com/nph-proxy3.cgi/01 ... 91677">The Cold Filter</a>
A forum dedicated to reporting on and discussing cryonics and cryo related topics.

September 22nd, 2008, 5:26 pm #3