Tearing or Getting Cut

Tearing or Getting Cut

November 15th, 2011, 5:22 pm #1

Let me preface this by saying I am a total rookie when it comes to this childbirth, so this question might seem so awkward or just out there. I am reading my books as I grow by each month and getting in to the 3 tri. So, as I read about birthing plans, I would love not to have to get cut (I forget the proper term e something). However, I know this is something that has a high probability of happening. Is it better to just tear or allow the cuts? I am sure both hurt but I am thinking for overall which is easier to deal with pre and post.

Maru
Maru

November 15th, 2011, 5:24 pm #2

I also had this dilemma with my first. I had a c-section so I can offer very little help, but I can tell you from my friends the ones that got cut by the doctor had better recoveries than the ones that tear on their own. One of my friends tear so bad they had to spend almost an hour stitching her back up.

I've read so many different opinions on this matter it's good you're researching now, ask your doctor what he/she thinks too and especially good to know real life experiences and see what's worked better for others and why.

November 15th, 2011, 6:51 pm #3

Let me preface this by saying I am a total rookie when it comes to this childbirth, so this question might seem so awkward or just out there. I am reading my books as I grow by each month and getting in to the 3 tri. So, as I read about birthing plans, I would love not to have to get cut (I forget the proper term e something). However, I know this is something that has a high probability of happening. Is it better to just tear or allow the cuts? I am sure both hurt but I am thinking for overall which is easier to deal with pre and post.