Question on valium

Question on valium

Anonymous
Anonymous

June 12th, 2011, 9:51 pm #1

Is it considered safe to use during the stressful time leading up to a cycle and building a lining, to both relax the uterus and internal organs, and to help with anxiety as well?

I realize clinics commonly give 10mg at transfer (that's a huge dose), even 2.5mg would be helpful though. Also I recall some posters taking Valium in the 2ww for progesterone- related cramping?

June 12th, 2011, 11:51 pm #2

Hi. First of all - I totally understand the 2WW torture! I just started mine yesterday. And it is truly cruel. That said, and recognizing that I absolutely welcomed the little pill for my transfer yesterday, Valium is Class D drug and is contraindicated during pregnancy.

Now, might some REs prescribe it anyway, maybe they do. Heck, I'm not a doctor, just an active Googler.

Hang in there - you will get through the two weeks. You will...

http://www.drugs.com/valium.html

"FDA pregnancy category D. Do not use Valium if you are pregnant. It could harm the unborn baby. Use effective birth control, and tell your doctor if you become pregnant during treatment. Valium may cause low blood pressure, breathing problems, or addiction and withdrawal symptoms in a newborn if the mother takes the medication during pregnancy. Diazepam can pass into breast milk and may harm a nursing baby. Do not use this medication without telling your doctor if you are breast-feeding a baby. The sedative effects of Valium may last longer in older adults. Accidental falls are common in elderly patients who take benzodiazepines. Use caution to avoid falling or accidental injury while you are taking this medicine."

Anonymous
Anonymous

June 12th, 2011, 11:52 pm #3

Is it considered safe to use during the stressful time leading up to a cycle and building a lining, to both relax the uterus and internal organs, and to help with anxiety as well?