How to find a donor ... frozen eggs or fresh cycle?

How to find a donor ... frozen eggs or fresh cycle?

Anon
Anon

September 26th, 2011, 2:17 am #1

Hi ladies,

I'm wondering if I can rely on your expertise as I am very new to this ...

When looking for donors, I'm trying to determine whether its better to go for frozen egss or to go with a fresh cycle? I understand that frozen eggs would save $ (some banks on line post for $15k for 6 eggs whereas a fresh donor cycle would cost more than that). Can you help me understand the pros and cons? My gut says a fresh cycle would make more sense, but I just dont know enough about this.

Also, do most agencies share photos of the donors (even if the donors are anonymous)? I ask because i would like to get someone who sort of resembles me so I'd be interested in what the donors look like. Do the agencies share adult or baby pictures? Could you personally recommend an agency?

Finally, any recommendations for a DE RE in the greater Boston area? Thank you for your help!

thesameboat
thesameboat

September 26th, 2011, 2:27 am #2

I do think that fresh is probably going to give you a better chance, though maybe there's someone on here with experience in frozen eggs.

As far as pictures go, everything is possible in the States. I cycled in the Czech Republic, where a donor coordinator matches recipients and donors. I'm actually personally happy with that. I will never look at my child and think of her looking like someone else. Instead, we see the similarities to us.

Welcome to the community. It's a great group here. I hope you find your path to your child soon. Best of luck.

September 26th, 2011, 3:00 am #3

Hi ladies,