Ohio Promoters License News.....

Ohio Promoters License News.....

Actual Promoter...
Actual Promoter...

November 23rd, 2009, 5:26 pm #1

FYI to all the "Promoters" out there in Ohii, you no longer need a BOND anymore so pay your $200 bucks and become legit and get a license. Thank You
Quote
Share

.
.

November 23rd, 2009, 5:40 pm #2

why should they do that when they can just run outlaw and save the money. Plus you have to think it's still $100 a show and most don't pay the wrestlers and don't have the $100. Plus the OAC don't enforce the rules unless another promoter calls.
Quote
Share

.
.

November 23rd, 2009, 7:23 pm #3

they don't even enforce it when you do call.
Quote
Share

.
.

November 23rd, 2009, 7:23 pm #4

why should they do that when they can just run outlaw and save the money. Plus you have to think it's still $100 a show and most don't pay the wrestlers and don't have the $100. Plus the OAC don't enforce the rules unless another promoter calls.
they don't even enforce it when you do call.
Quote
Share

.
.

November 23rd, 2009, 7:41 pm #5

Yes they are now enforcing it. They only enforce it when they get called though.
Quote
Share

OH Commission
OH Commission

November 23rd, 2009, 10:44 pm #6

We WILL start enforcing. No license? Your show will be SHUT DOWN!
Quote
Share

.
.

November 23rd, 2009, 11:10 pm #7

We had our license and permit but another promoter called the commission thinking we'd be shut down. They did indeed dispatch the local authorities to investigate and they went home satisfied. So I say they WILL indeed make an attempt to enforce the rules when they are called.
Quote
Share

.
.

November 23rd, 2009, 11:30 pm #8

We WILL start enforcing. No license? Your show will be SHUT DOWN!
OK no one is providing any real evidence of this. When a real promotion comes forward and says they've been contacted then I'll buy it.

I love how someone posted as this commission, if it was real don't you think they would have left an email address?

So lame.
Quote
Share

.
.

November 23rd, 2009, 11:44 pm #9

so what are the actual reqirements so everyone can be in compliance? Post a link to the rules or put the actual contact info on here. if everyone works together then we all benefit.
Quote
Share

Rikk Diamond
Rikk Diamond

November 24th, 2009, 4:01 am #10

Everyone knows I was running outlaw forever. Yes even had the commission called on me numerous times. Prior to the 6th anniversary show the Belmont County Sheriffs Office was contacted by the OAC and yes officers came to the building and inquired about a license. I explained to them what we all know. ITS NOT AN ATHLETIC SPORT! They knew that and were only enforcing a state law. They told me if I was not in compliance I would be fined and shut down. On the day of the show the Sheriffs Office did come to the building, because I was the listed promoter of the show when the state was contacted. I met with them early in the morning and was informed I would be fined/arrested but no one would be escorted to jail. I was unavailable the rest of the afternoon, and they returned 5 additional times, as I was in the process of bringing Buff in from the airport, and had radio interviews that day. Aprox 45 minutes before bell time the Sheriff said there needs to be a permit but he was not coming back. If the state wanted to enforce it they can. He seen no problem with what we were doing.

Fast forward to prior to Oct 3rd after myself and Big Dawg parted. I had a planned event and the OAC I was told contacted Big Dawg. Then was told they called him. He forwarded my information to them. No big deal as I questioned his being contacted via his myspace, telephone, email, when everything related to Diamond Dawg traced to me not him. Long story short I was emailed by Bernie regarding the event and spoke with him the day I was emailed. He explained it was a 3rd degree misdemeanor punishable by jail and up to a $1,000.00 fine. I was also contacted by the Belmont County Sheriffs Office via phone to inform me they were contacted and would be at the event to verify it was licensed and a permit was on location.

The required surety bond has been dropped and is no longer a requirement. The license is $200 per year. Thats just for the license. Its an additional $100 per event for a permit that must be available for viewing by an authorized agent of the OAC or any member of law enforcement. They are currently in the process of making a different permit available for permanent facilities if you plan on running more often.

All of the information is available on the Ohio State Athletic Commission website. Check it out and see for yourself.

Because I am on the state line I will add what WV/Wheelings requirements area. While WV does not require anything the Attorney General of WV recommends spectator liability insurance if you are holding events and the City of Wheeling requires a business license. The business license in the city of Wheeling is $15.00 a year. Not bad but the City of Wheeling has a B&O tax. It is a type of gross receipts tax because it is levied on gross income, rather than net income.

Quote
Share