Storm Dome: still not climbed?

Storm Dome: still not climbed?

August 9th, 2010, 3:54 am #1

Tom's book and a thread on this site in Oct. 2008 suggest Storm Dome has not yet been scaled. Is this still true?

If so, it's hard to imagine some young guns haven't knocked this one off. It's a dramatic face that is a fairly easy 8 mile hike from the trailhead. I'm not a climber, but I am a geologist and noticed that it's composed of very uniform, pristine granite. I imagine that part of the difficulty of this face is that the joint system is parallel to the face.

Some pics I took over the weekend:

For non-climbers like me, it's just a nice place to visit and sight-see. If you go, don't forget your camera:

And your fish pole:

Jim

August 9th, 2010, 12:50 pm #2

Jim-
Thanks for the fantastic pics.
I haven't been in there since 1997. But I seem to remember that on Storm Dome the cracks don't run vertically, and that any features that are there are undercut (no ledges).
There is a lot of granite in the Lick Creek range, but as far as I know only a few spots have been worked. From what I'm told, the hot climbers are gravitating to the limestone in Hells Canyon and above Riggins.

August 11th, 2010, 1:20 am #3

Tom's book and a thread on this site in Oct. 2008 suggest Storm Dome has not yet been scaled. Is this still true?

If so, it's hard to imagine some young guns haven't knocked this one off. It's a dramatic face that is a fairly easy 8 mile hike from the trailhead. I'm not a climber, but I am a geologist and noticed that it's composed of very uniform, pristine granite. I imagine that part of the difficulty of this face is that the joint system is parallel to the face.

Some pics I took over the weekend:

For non-climbers like me, it's just a nice place to visit and sight-see. If you go, don't forget your camera:

And your fish pole:

Jim