Snow climbing

Snow climbing

July 8th, 2011, 9:54 pm #1

I was reading for several years on this great web site all those wonderful mountaineering trip reports. Thank you all for sharing! I finally came to the point, where I need to check with you on something that I was thinking about for quite some time

I am interested for a long time to start climbing in the snow, but I do not know how to start, what additional equipment is necessary and, in addition, I have no regular partner. It seems that the current conditions in Idaho are really awesome for the snow climbs these days... And I would appreciate if anybody could consider a complete novice to the snow climbing (that is me, a fair weather day hiker/peak bagger) to tag along with you this weekend (or later) on your snow routes. I do have snowshoes, Petzl strap-on crampons, ice axe and all that other normal hiking gear... Any possible help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot in advance! iddayhiker@gmail.com

July 8th, 2011, 11:13 pm #2

Knowing about when to climb is extremely important for both enjoying spring/summer snow climbs and safety. Here's a recent thread about it http://www.network54.com/Forum/105717/t ... to+set+up-

Also, knowing proper footwork with crampons and ice axe techniques are essential. Google and youtube have endless info on these topics and others such as ice/snow anchors, roped travel (less common here than on glaciers, but still done sometimes), and other subjects. I hope this helps, and if I go anywhere soon I'll let you know.

Bob
Bob

July 9th, 2011, 3:02 pm #3

I was reading for several years on this great web site all those wonderful mountaineering trip reports. Thank you all for sharing! I finally came to the point, where I need to check with you on something that I was thinking about for quite some time