herb lawn help

herb lawn help

October 3rd, 2010, 8:18 pm #1

Hello. I'm currently in my final year at university and I am just about to start my Geography dissertation. I am thinking of studying herb lawns and their pros and cons over conventional grass due to the increasing concerns over water shortages and pesticide/herbicide uses etc. However, I am finding it difficult to locate much information on the topic apart from the odd brief paragraph in general herb books, and so was just wondering whether anyone knew of any useful literature out there?

Also, does anyone have knowledge of any other herbs that could be used as a grass substitute, apart from Roman Chamomile and Creeping Thyme?

I'm a bit new to the field of herbs, so please feel free to tell me if this topic is a bit limited, as it's important for me to create a project that is an up-to-date issue, which will also be useful for future work in the area.

Sorry for the rambling post :S ...If anyone has managed to make it to the end I'd appreciate any help that you can offer. Many thanks in advance.

Laura.

October 6th, 2010, 10:16 am #2

Hi Laura

This isn't really an answer to your question about using herbs as replacement for grass, but on the Herbwifery Forum there was a discussion about eating grasses. You might find that interesting and give you some more food for thought. You can find it onhttp://herbwifery.org/forum/viewtopic.p ... ht=grasses

Good luck in your search

Sarah

Claire
Claire

October 12th, 2010, 6:46 pm #3