Being a CNA is Hard Work!

Being a CNA is Hard Work!

May 21st, 2007, 3:37 am #1

I work as a nursing assistant in a small nursing & rehab center, about 160 patients. I don't even know where to start! First I would like to say I have been a CNA for 4 years now. It barely pays the bills. Not to mention my whole body hurts when I come home. I mainly work 7-3, and I feel this shift should get extra money because of all that is required. Many times we work with only 4 CNA's to a floor. This leaves us with 12-16 residents depending what floor your on. Each section has at least 4 showers, that we must give. How do they honostly expect us to monitor, change, feed wash and dress 16 residents in less than 6 hours? The families can sometimes be the worste. They do not care that we are understaffed and expect us to perform like robots and have thier loved ones up and dressed by 11 am. Again, how am I to do this with 16 patients in a few hours? Many times I do not even know the patient and they sometimes reaquire more time than others because they are there for rehab. Most nurses ignore the call lights and wait for you to finish with whomever you are with to tell you your needed in room such and such. There you will find, they waited 20 minutes for something as simple as a glass of water, or now they are a pissy poopy mess, because Miss Nurse was too good to walk them to the bathroom. This is neglect. Yet Mrs. Betty's bottom starts to break down, CNA's will more than likely take the blame for this. I get really tired of having to be super nurse. I respect the nurses and I understand they too are busy and they have thier own things that they are responsible for. However, we should work as a team to get things done more efficiently. The administration never staffs enough of us. This leads to neglect because you cannot properly care for someone head to toe in 10 minutes. It upsets me when we get reprimanded for doing the best we can. I realize these residents depend on us. However