Public Enemies

Public Enemies

Lisa Ryan
Lisa Ryan

July 5th, 2009, 10:09 pm #1

After seeing Johnny Depp's Dillinger biopic last night, I've
been wondering how well known Billie Holiday was during the
time frame of the movie (spring 1933 to July 1934)

It seemed like every time someone turned on the radio
a Billie Holiday song was playing. I know she recorded in
1933, but ... is this realistic?
Just wondering! (I figure there might be an expert or two
out there who could answer this question!)

Bob Kelley
Bob Kelley

July 5th, 2009, 10:47 pm #2

liberties there.

I'm no expert, but a quick check tells me she cut two songs with Benny Goodman in late 1933 but she didn't really get started with the successful recordings until 1935.

People nowadays think she was cool and they might not know the singers who really were on the radio then, so the director went for the audience impact of Lady Day.

I'll be interested to see what you learn here. I love the sound of Billie's voice (and she had fantastic bands backing her) but to be honest I get tired of some of the songwriting material you hear in her best-known recordings, "Summertime," "God Bless the Child," etc.

I like her take on "Back in Your Own Back Yard" (in fact I learned to perform it based on her track) and her dreamy vibe in "Without Your Love."

I almost forgot to ask:

How was the movie? I'm intrigued by the rich look of the stills and the interesting central plot angle of using Myrna Loy as bait.

George Hocutt
George Hocutt

July 5th, 2009, 10:52 pm #3

Billy was not that well known in the early thirties. Radio stations did not play many records at that time. That came later. The errors in this film are egregious. It is a close, to Dillinger, as Young Man With A Horn was to the life of Bix. Just enjoy the movie as another Hollywood treatment or should I say mistreatment of a biography. Why.

George

July 5th, 2009, 10:56 pm #4