Okeh Recording Studios in NYC - as it looks today

Okeh Recording Studios in NYC - as it looks today

John Leifert
John Leifert

August 25th, 2009, 8:46 pm #1

The building which housed the old 40th Street and 8th Avenue Okeh recording studios (the same building that Perry Bradford wrote about in his memoir) is - amazingly - still in existence today. I thought it might be interesting to show Forumites what the location looks like in 2009 (it's an Irish pub called O'Lunney's). When you're there, ponder a moment: past these portals strode Bix, Tram, Eddie Lang, Louis Armstrong, Joe Venuti, Clarence Williams, and so many more.....and offer up a silent toast.

http://www.gothamlostandfound.com/

Scroll down to the March 13, 2009 entry and you'll see the picture of the location.

John L

Lisa Ryan
Lisa Ryan

August 26th, 2009, 5:14 am #2

That's very cool info! O'Lunney's was one of the places I used to hang out at
when I was a carriage driver in the 1970's (the stable I worked
out of was on West 38th St.) ... little did I realize what hallowed ground I was
drinking in! I'm confused about the address, though - it's not on 40th, but the 45th
street location of the Okeh Studios (145 W. 45th - right?)

Speaking of bars, does the building that Plunkett's was in on West 53rd Street
still exist?

Emrah Erken
Emrah Erken

August 26th, 2009, 5:27 am #3

The building which housed the old 40th Street and 8th Avenue Okeh recording studios (the same building that Perry Bradford wrote about in his memoir) is - amazingly - still in existence today. I thought it might be interesting to show Forumites what the location looks like in 2009 (it's an Irish pub called O'Lunney's). When you're there, ponder a moment: past these portals strode Bix, Tram, Eddie Lang, Louis Armstrong, Joe Venuti, Clarence Williams, and so many more.....and offer up a silent toast.

http://www.gothamlostandfound.com/

Scroll down to the March 13, 2009 entry and you'll see the picture of the location.

John L