Clint Eastwood- Wall Street Journal "Jazz was His First Muse"

Clint Eastwood- Wall Street Journal "Jazz was His First Muse"

Jamaica
Jamaica

February 22nd, 2011, 4:24 pm #1

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142 ... 23308.html

By MICHAEL JUDGE

Carmel, Calif.

I'm here to talk to one of America's premier filmmakers about his career in the industry, but his eyes light up when I ask him about his first lovejazz. "It's always fun to talk about jazz," says Clint Eastwood, seated at a small table not far from the baby grand piano that fills his Mission Ranch Restaurant with jazz each night. We're looking out at a picturesque meadow and a flock of grazing sheep he jokingly calls his "girlfriends."

View Full Image

Zina Saunders
Clint Eastwood

At 80, Mr. Eastwood is busier than most men half his age. A self-taught pianist and composer, the actor and Oscar- winning director has (with longtime collaborator Lennie Niehaus and, more recently, his son, Kyle Eastwood) scored and written songs for many of his films, including "Unforgiven," "Mystic River," Million Dollar Baby," "Gran Torino" and "Hereafter."

He once said jazz and westerns are perhaps the only truly American art forms. I ask him where he acquired his love for the former. "When I was a kid, I'd listen to jazz records and copy them on the piano," he says, fingering imaginary keys. The Fats Waller albums his mother brought to their house near Oakland, Calif., were an early influence.

Before long, while still in his teens, he was hitting local jazz clubs. "In the Bay Area," he explains, "there was a resurgence of Dixieland jazz in the '40sthere was the Frisco Jazz Band, and Lu Watters and the Yerba Buena Jazz Band. I used to go out to a place called Hambone Kelly's in El Cerrito. And because I was fairly big for my age, I could go in there and get a beer and sit in the back and listen to these players."