Out of the box

Out of the box

March 28th, 2010, 10:30 pm #1

Is it true that this years model expo in melbourne has no out of the box categorys?
Last edited by revell222 on March 28th, 2010, 10:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

March 29th, 2010, 12:58 am #2

March 29th, 2010, 2:09 am #3

Is it true that this years model expo in melbourne has no out of the box categorys?
some kits now include P/E to step up the detail of their kits so it has created an unfair advantage. I'm no expert though. Just what I've heard.

Regards

Andrew

If you say, "you can't", you won't. If you say, "I quit", then you have failed. If you say, "I'll try", then you may just conquer!

March 29th, 2010, 9:32 am #4

Well there goes the OOB F-4F I've been doing hmmmmmmmmm

March 29th, 2010, 10:14 pm #5

nm

March 29th, 2010, 10:58 pm #6

I believe you can still enter OOB, just that it will be judged together with the entries from OOB-ENH. I certainly hope a couple PE anttennas/belts won't make or break a model. But then again I have stashed a couple grand phoenix kits which has the whole lot..Not that entering those will be automatic wins, as aftermarket parts still need to be applied with skill.

The same with junior categories. They are 'open' I reckon due to the lower number of entires. If you have an OOB/ENH category you'd need another 'other' category to cover all bases and may end up with 2 models per category...

Just join to participate.
Last edited by potchip on March 29th, 2010, 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

March 29th, 2010, 11:34 pm #7

I haven't entered a model comp since I was a teen and I have little interest in comps other than admiring the wonderful efforts of our brethren. I can however, appreciate the rationale behind making the contest fair to all entrants.

Nevertheless, I would have thought that rather than removing the OOB category, it would have been more sensible to divide the category to:

1.OOB - plastic only
2.OOB - including PE & resin