Majestic Class light aircraft carrier HMAS Melbourne

Majestic Class light aircraft carrier HMAS Melbourne

April 10th, 2010, 4:21 pm #1

Hello all,

Im starting a build log for my next project the Majestic Class light aircraft carrier HMAS Melbourne which was in service with the Royal Australian Navy from 1955 until 1982. I am mainly an armour modeler and as such will need a bunch of help and I hope to get that here.

To build the project I will use:
Heller 1/400 Colossus/ Arromanches
WEM 1/400 Colossus PE
Gold Medal Models 1/400 Naval Ship
LArsenal 1/400 Bofors Twin
LArsenal 1/400 Bofors Single
LArsenal 1/400 S-2 Tracker
LArsenal 1/400 Sikorsky / Sud Aviation HSS-1 (Wessex)
ARIA 1/400 U.S. Navy Aircraft (Sea King)

For the Skyhawks I have 2 lines:
Corsair Armadas 1/350 A-4 Skyhawk: at 350 they should only be ~12% too large. Is that I deal breaker? I have no idea, yet. If they end up looking too big I have a line on an old Revell 1/400 scale USS Enterprise which has about 12 x 1/400 Skyhawk shaped blobs of plastic.

Reference material:
Topmill Publishing, Aircraft Carriers and Squadrons of the Australian Navy
Australian Naval Drawings: HMAS Melbourne (II) - Aircraft Carrier post 1971 - profile, upper decks & sections
HMAS Melbourne Deck Detailhttp://www.filefront.com/13817114/HMASm ... etail.pdf/
Phil Thompsons epic 2000 page long ~2 GB .pdf file dedicated to the Skyhawk in Aust service posted here about a year ago. Thanks buddyhttp://www.aussiemodeller.com/pages/dis ... forum.html
And about every photo and YouTube video I could find with Google

Only half of the stuff has arrived so far but here it is: