Choke Chains

Choke Chains

December 30th, 2011, 8:08 pm #1

Happy New Year everyone! Just another question. I've been using choke chains for about 2 months on Toshi who's 75lbs already and I'm just worried that it's going to hurt her. She's fine when we're just walking but when we're in the park (specially after she's finished with her 'business'), she would run around like crazy. My retractable leash is only 16 ft long so when it reaches the end it will just tug her choke chain hard. She's a strong pooch and I can feel the pressure when she runs and reaches the end of the leash. Will this cause injury to her neck? I am planning to swith back to her old collar but I thing this will have the same effect. Sometimes I'm so tempted to let her off the leash when no one's around the park but I'm just worried she might run away. As usual, I need your advice. Thanks again!

Candi
Candi

December 30th, 2011, 10:01 pm #2

1) Find some escape-proof area (even if it's just your own yard) for vigorous off-leash romping around, so Toshi CANNOT run away...

2) For walks in public places, I would never use a "flexi-lead" at all, because they can easily be pulled right out of your grasp by a big, strong, undisciplined Akita (then a dog fight or traffic tragedy could happen that you would NOT be able to prevent)...

3) Until you train her to heel properly on a 6 foot leather leash, I would buy Toshi a top-quality Prong collar AND a Dominant-Dog collar (http://leerburg.com/prong.htm & http://leerburg.com/746.htm) ASAP...

Dustin, a 75 pound dog that will soon tip the scales at nearly 100 pounds & may even weigh more than that before too much longer, alreday needs Formal Obedience Lessons "as of yesterday", no offense intended.

Dustin
Dustin

December 31st, 2011, 9:51 pm #3

Thanks for your advice Candi. I'm in the process of putting grass in my backyard so Toshi has her own playround. I've seen those prong collars before. Won't it cause injury just in case Toshi suddenly runs?