Whats going on with prices!!!

Whats going on with prices!!!

December 29th, 2006, 1:01 pm #1

I've been collecting WW1 & WW2 flying gear for 8 years now and I don't know if I have missed something but has any collectors out there an explanation as to what is going on with prices at the moment (especially the past couple of months). Nearly 900 pounds for an E* mask & C type, a single G type mask with time to run 400 pounds, Irvin jackets going close to $1000. There is even a guy in New Zealand that has a reserve of $3,500 for an irvin.
A year ago I was buying goggle, mask & helmet sets for 200 pounds and payed 360US for an E* mask with C helmet.
Is it the proposed remake of The Dam Busters as Band Of Brothers did for Airborne gear prices?? Go figure. Cheers

December 29th, 2006, 1:17 pm #2

Early masks have always been expensive -- with the Type D masks being prohibitively so. Types E and E* have gone up steadily over the past 5 years or so. Same goes for the G masks.

I wouldn't use eBay as a basis to determine value. Prices at boot sales, estate sales, etc tend to be considerably less. That is, of course, for people who are located in areas where these items are available.

Price spikes due to movies tend to occur after the production is released. This is when newcomers to the hobby tend to make their initial appearances and there's a surge in demand for things. Still way too early to tell if the Band of Brothers effect will be in play or not.

December 29th, 2006, 1:49 pm #3

Recently (in the past 2 months) I've seen some real ebay bargains - I think reflecting the expense that Christmas brings to the home and people having less disposable funds. I don't think there are clear cut-prices as seen in recent discussions. I rate this time of year as being in favour of buyers rather than sellers to be honest.

At the end of the day the "value" is only what people are prepared to pay.

December 29th, 2006, 2:29 pm #4