Type 18 Dimentions required

Type 18 Dimentions required

April 4th, 2012, 10:25 pm #1

Hi chaps

Extremely new to the forum and looking to get involved with joining a RAF living history group that portrays 39 - 45 period pilots. I do have some kit, uniform ect boots but really looking to put together a classic BOB impression. I dont have mega funds but am quite handy with the old hands being a model maker by trade. Im trying to replicate for my own use a type 18 mic but dont have the funds to purchase a replica or certainly an original.

If anyone has indeed a real one and can supply outside measurements/dimentions im sure i can make a very convincing mic housing replica. I do have a type 21 but understand the ridge that supports the swich housing is either wider or the central tapered cone is steeper on these?. Lastly any ideas how much the repro canvas D masks are and where i can buy one from?.

Thanks guys, really hope you can help.

Regards

Mac

April 5th, 2012, 1:51 pm #2

Hello Mac, welcome to the forum.
Please get in touch with me via email. (just click on my name to see the address). I can help you with dimensions. I have a project ongoing to reverse engineer a Type 18 mic. I have a computer model of a Type 18. I have some section cuts with dimensions.
Also, please search on the forum for other very recent threads regarding the Type 18. Another group has actually successfully reverse engineered the mic and has done a great job.
Cheers Neil

April 5th, 2012, 11:08 pm #3

Hi there Neil.. Thanks for the reply, i did try and respond by clicking on your name however it diddnt do anything so i thought best try this way. Yes id be interested in recieving your dimentions and computer pics for reference if you wouldnt mind?. Please would you email me the information required.