Not wartime greatcoat?

Not wartime greatcoat?

August 25th, 2010, 8:25 pm #1

Despite the seller's claim surely this is not a wartime Greatcoat with those cuffs? I'm no expert on them but I thought these 'turn-up' cuffs only appeared post-war....

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... :MEBIDX:IT

August 25th, 2010, 9:07 pm #2

Wartime greatcoat would have a full belt as well, not just the half belt on the rear.

August 25th, 2010, 10:46 pm #3

Despite the seller's claim surely this is not a wartime Greatcoat with those cuffs? I'm no expert on them but I thought these 'turn-up' cuffs only appeared post-war....

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... :MEBIDX:IT
You are quite correct Paul. Wartime greatcoats had removeable shoulder rank rather than sewn on ones 9so they could be switched with the bullion mess dress/full dress versions), a full belt with buckle rather than a half belt on the back only adorned with two buttons, and plain cuffs fastened with three buttons each rather than turn back cuffs.

VR badges were supposed to be abolished in January 1943, so also a bit odd they are on a post WW2 greatcoat (i think this style came in in the early 1950s.)

Surprising as this seller I think is generally very clued up...

August 26th, 2010, 4:13 am #4

The coat may have been badged up by the owner, post-war, in an attempt to recreate his wartime coat. I have seen many strange things that have come straight from the vet.

August 26th, 2010, 9:40 am #5

I see where youre coming from Bob, but the 'VR' badge was abolished in early 1943, and although worn by many for some time after, had largely gone by the end of the war. In this case though, in the years after the war, it was replaced by 'VRT', so although 'VR' might have been ignored by many, as it was superceeded he would be incorrectly dressed.